Mostrar mensagens com a etiqueta Portugal Guimarães. Mostrar todas as mensagens
Mostrar mensagens com a etiqueta Portugal Guimarães. Mostrar todas as mensagens

10 de fevereiro de 2014

GUIdance 2014

http://www.ccvf.pt
http://www.guimaraesturismo.com/
2014/02/14
Plataforma das Artes e da Creatividade - BlackBox
Avª Conde Margaride, nº 175
4810-535 Guimarães
 
 
+ 351 253 424 700
http://www.ccvf.pt
19h30
 
 
O que fica do que passa é um jogo impressionista intimista e intenso. Cor que é feita de sombras e de outras luzes. Na total escuridão, o som propaga cada um dos pontos em que me revejo, numa energia de átomos em “passeio aleatório”. Desvelam-me, por fim. A tela que se abre deixa atrás de mim uma marca de perenidade. E eu, boquiaberto, reconfiguro-me no tempo e no espaço. A minha boca é grito, desespero, sufoco, canto silencioso cuja tessitura é tão grande como a memória que transporto. O que fica do que passa questiona a forma como nos relacionamos com a memória. De memória como sensação. Uma dança onde o que vemos é o que provém de nós próprios. Do escuro, apenas impressões

30 de agosto de 2013

The historic town of Guimarães

The historic town of Guimarães is associated with the emergence of the Portuguese national identity in the 12th century. An exceptionally well-preserved and authentic example of the evolution of a medieval settlement into a modern town, its rich building typology exemplifies the specific development of Portuguese architecture from the 15th to 19th century through the consistent use of traditional building materials and techniques.



The early history of Guimarães is closely associated with the establishment of Portuguese national identity and the Portuguese language in the 12th century. Guimarães is of considerable significance by virtue of the fact that specialized building techniques developed there in the Middle Ages were transmitted to Portuguese colonies in Africa and the New World, becoming their characteristic feature. It is an exceptionally well-preserved town illustrating the evolution of particular building types from the medieval settlement to the present-day city, and particularly in the 15th-19th centuries.
Guimarães dominates the fertile plain that extends towards the sea. It is situated on the most important medieval communication routes connecting Monçao and Braga with Viseu and Caminha, the seat of the Portuguese Counts from the 10th century. This urban settlement developed as a result of two forces, a monastery in the south valley, and a fort on the north hill, surrounded by two rivers, until they were brought together within a single enclosure.
The historic centre is formed by a large number of stone constructions (950-1498). The period from Renaissance to neoclassicism is characterized by noble houses and the development of civic facilities, city squares, etc. The eclectic and industrial periods and modern expansion (1926 until today) include some changes, although the town has maintained its medieval urban layout. The systems and building types have evolved over time. The residential buildings are characterized by the use of two construction techniques, one dating from before the 16th century (taipa de rodízio ), a half-timbered structure, which mixed granite with a structure in timber and a filling of sun-dried brick, using clay mortar. The other (taipa de fasquio ), which came into use in the 19th century and is still practised today, was entirely in timber. From here this technology was exported to other parts of the world.
The monuments include the medieval castle, built on the site of the first fort of the 10th century. The present construction was built from stone, begun at the time of Afonso I and continued with various modifications in the following centuries. The building is an austere crenellated structure with towers, designed for defence. Part of it was demolished in the 18th century and since then it has been subject to restorations. Close to the castle, there is a small Romanesque church, São Miguel do Castelo, ruined in the 19th century and restored in the 1920s. The church of Nossa Senhora da Oliveira was founded in the 12th century on the site where the first monastery had existed some three centuries earlier. It was completely renovated from 1387 to 1413, with three naves and a wooden roof structure, according to the Portuguese Gothic model. The cloister was added in the 16th century and the present sanctuary to the church in the 17th.
The Palace of the Dukes of Bragança is a large complex built from stone down the hill from the castle. The first construction dates from 1420-22, most probably under French influence. The building was conceived as a symbol of the pride of the Bragança family. The building underwent various vicissitudes, serving as a military headquarters in the late 19th century. The Town Hall, in the square in front of the church of Nossa Senhora, dates mainly from the 16th and 17th centuries. The palace, primarily in stone, has one main floor with large doors opening to a balcony along the main facade. The ground floor is characterized by open arcades. In the same square, in front of the church, there is also a 14th-century Gothic arch, a monument commemorating the victory of Dom Afonso IV in the battle of Padrão do Salado.
The bourgeois houses of the 16th century have a ground floor in granite and the upper floors are built using the half-timbered structure of taipa de rodízio . The houses of noble families have often been an modification of a previous structure, and generally have their elevations built from granite as a sign of distinction. The typical houses of the 17th century continued using the same construction technique (granite in the ground floor and half-timbered structure in the upper floors - usually three). Another type of house of the same century was built with a peristyle and arcaded ground floor, and is usually found in public squares.
Source: UNESCO/CLT/WHC

28 de agosto de 2013

Guimarães



Guimarães é uma cidade portuguesa situada no Distrito de Braga, região Norte e sub-região do Ave (uma das sub-regiões mais industrializadas do país), com uma população de 52 181 habitantes, repartidos por uma malha urbana de 23,5 km², em 20 freguesias e com uma densidade populacional de 2 223,9 hab/km².2

É sede de um município com 241,05 km² de área e 158 124 habitantes (2011) (em queda se comparada com a população estimada de 162 592 habitantes em 2009 e aos Censos de 2001), subdividido em 69 freguesias, sendo que a maioria da população reside na cidade e na sua zona periférica. 

O município é limitado a norte pelo município de Póvoa de Lanhoso, a leste por Fafe, a sul por Felgueiras, Vizela e Santo Tirso, a oeste por Vila Nova de Famalicão e a noroeste por Braga.

É uma cidade histórica, com um papel crucial na formação de Portugal, e que conta já com mais de um milénio desde a sua formação, altura em que era designada como Vimaranes. Podendo este topónimo ter tido origem em Vímara Peres, nos meados do século IX, quando fez deste local o seu principal centro governativo do condado Portucalense que tinha conquistado para o Reino de Galiza e onde veio a falecer.
Guimarães é uma das mais importantes cidades históricas do país, sendo o seu centro histórico considerado Património Cultural da Humanidade, tornando-a definitivamente um dos maiores centros turísticos da região. As suas ruas e monumentos respiram história e encantam quem a visita.
A Guimarães actual soube conciliar, da melhor forma, a história e consequente manutenção do património com o dinamismo e empreendedorismo que caracterizam as cidades modernas, que se manifestou na nomeação para Capital Europeia da Cultura em 2012, factores que levaram Guimarães a ser eleita pelo New York Times como um dos 41 locais a visitar em 2011 e a considerá-la um dos emergentes pontos culturais da Península Ibérica.  Guimarães é muitas vezes designada como "Cidade Berço", devido ao facto aí ter sido estabelecido o centro administrativo do Condado Portucalense por D. Henrique e por seu filho D. Afonso Henriques poder ter nascido nesta cidade e fundamentalmente pela importância histórica que a Batalha de São Mamede, travada na periferia da cidade em 24 de Junho de 1128, teve para a formação d
a nacionalidade.

Jan Kubelik plays "Zephyr" by Hubay